Walton County 4 Hour BDI Basic Driver Improvement Classes
Walton County 4 Hour Traffic School DDC Course
Walton County, Florida 4 Hour BDI DDC course is the only way to dismiss the points received from a Florida traffic ticket/citation, and avoid insurance premium increases. Each course is for the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles FDHSMV and approved by all Florida courts.
How the Walton County, Florida Traffic School DDC Course Works
Walton County Basic Driver Improvement DDC, also known as Traffic School or Defensive Driving, is a 4 hour course which motorists can take when issued a traffic citation, when asked by the courts, or to get an insurance discount (from the insurance company). The course is taken in 4 modules online and covers topics such as:
Florida Traffic Laws
Defensive Driving Strategies
Driving under the Influence
Adverse Driving Conditions and more
Upon completion of the traffic school course, you will receive an official Florida traffic school certificate of completion. At the same time, the completion goes to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. If your citation was the result of a moving violation, this completion will remove any points associated with the ticket, prevent insurance premium increases and possibly cut the fine cost of the ticket.
Convenient on-line reporting lets traffic schools automatically report course completions to DHSMV so the Driver License offices can view students who pass Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE), Basic Driver Improvement (BDI, TCAC, Red Light), and Advanced Driver Improvement (ADI).
Reasons for Attending Basic Driver Improvement
You must complete a basic driver improvement course (Traffic Collision Avoidance Course) if you want to keep your driver license in the following circumstance:
You were a driver in a crash and are found at fault and
someone was transported to the hospital or
you had two crashes in a two-year period, which resulted in property damage greater than $500.
Passed a stopped school bus
Highway Racing – Spectator
Running a red light
If you receive a ticket in the Walton County area for a non-criminal moving violation, and you do not hold a commercial driver license, you may elect to attend a basic driver improvement course in lieu of points on your driving record.
In some cases, you may choose to attend a Walton County basic driver improvement course to receive insurance discounts. This discount is solely at the discretion of your insurance company.
Electing to Attend Traffic School
Drivers with a Class A, B, or C license may not make an election under this subsection.
If, as a result of a moving violation, you elect to attend and complete a basic driver improvement course, you will receive the following benefits:
Your insurance rates cannot go up and your policy cannot be cancelled because of this violation, unless this involved a crash where you were at fault.
Points may not be added to your driver license record, adjudication of guilt is withheld, and safe driver status is maintained if applicable. You may not make an election under this subsection if you have made this election in the preceding 12 months. A person may make no more than five elections in a lifetime.
Within 30 days from the date you received the traffic citation and prior to attending class, you must:
Inform the Florida Clerk of Court in the county where you received the citation that you want to go to traffic school, and
Pay an election fee to the Walton County, Florida Clerk of Court in the county where you received the citation.
Walton County, Florida 4 HR Driver Improvement BDI or DDC Program
Walton County, Florida DDC Course
Florida Traffic Violations List
- Speeding: Fines typically range from $75.00 to $300.00 depending on the speed the person was driving
- Careless Driving: Fine up to $500
- Violation of a Traffic Control Device: Fines typically range up t $300 depending on the traffic control device
- Running a Red Light: Typically a $158.00 fine
- Violation of Right of Way: Fines range between $65.00 and $300.00
- Improper Lane Change: Fines range between $65.00 and $300.00
- Florida’s Move Over Law: Fines typically over $100.00 and up to $500.00
- Improper Passing: Fine up to $300.00
- Running a Stop Sign: Fines typically range from $75.00 to $300.00
- Spectator to Street Racing: Fine up to $500.00
- Failure to Yield: Up to $500.00 in fines
Violations which Cause the Most of Walton County Motor Vehicle Crashes are: 316.0895
Following too closely.—
Other Moving Violations Contributing to Motor Vehicle Accidents:
Speeding or Failure to Control Speed
Failed to Stop at Red Light (Running a Red Light)
Failure to Stop at Stop Sign (Running a Stop Sign)
Passing a School Bus while loading-unloading
Passing when unsafe
Fail to Obey Traffic Control Device – Signs
Fail to Obey Traffic Control Signals – Red Light or Flashing Lights