Washington Defensive Driving Class
Speeding Ticket Cost | Moving Violations | Driver Safety Course
Voluntary | Level 1 – 4 Hour | Level 2 – 8 Hour | DDC Programs
Level 1 Four Hour (4 hour) Defensive Driving Class
Level 2 Eight Hour (8 hour) Defensive Driving Class
Voluntary Defensive Driving and Auto Insurance Discount Class
Washington Accident, Crash, Collision Prevention Defensive Driving Class for Seniors Age 55 and over
Washington Defensive Driving Classes are for traffic ticket/citations for which the violator may be able to avoid the cost of speeding or moving violations. The fine and ticket is waived upon completion of the defensive driving class. This course will more than pay for itself in both the cost of the ticket in addition to the traffic ticket not being reported to the insurance company. defensive driving is sometimes referred to as driver safety or a driver improvement class.
Washington state level 1 four hour (4 hour) course is commonly for court approved traffic tickets. Washington state approved level 2 is an eight hour (8 hour) class for commonly for court ordered defensive driving for traffic offenses. The voluntary defensive driving course is mainly used for city municipal court and for auto car insurance discounts. Most major auto insurance companies offer a 3 straight year reduction in the liability portion of your car insurance. This course can pay for itself very quickly in insurance premium discounts.
Washington state collision prevention courses
Washington state also allows for safe driving for seniors program, which is an accident prevention or collision prevention for senior drivers age 55 and over. Mature Driver Improvement Program.
If you’re a licensed driver age 55 or over, consider taking a collision prevention course to:
- Learn about normal advancing age related physical changes, and how to adapt your driving to allow for these changes.
- Refresh your knowledge of the rules of the road and good driving skills.
- Reduce your chances of being in a motor vehicle accident collision and being injured or getting a traffic ticket.
- Learn to drive more safely.
- Get a car insurance discount of up to 15% on many auto insurance policies.
What you’ll learn in the mature driver improvement, collision prevention course –
- The effects of aging on your driving.
- Driver problem areas such as yielding the right of way, speeding, following distances, sharing the road, road signs, and signals.
- How to limit your distractions.
- How to properly use safety restraints (seat belts, air bags).
- What effects medications and alcohol can have on your driving.
- The importance of maintaining a safe vehicle.
How to apply for an auto insurance discount
After you’ve completed the 8 hour collision prevention course online, you’ll be issued a certificate of completion. Contact your insurance company or agent to get instructions about how to send them the certificate or find out what your insurance rate reduction will be.
Drivers receiving a speeding ticket, moving violation charge of running a red light, stop sign, following too closely or any other moving violation may request to take the Defensive Driving for the city mun county District court, or any other court in which the traffic ticket was issued.
City of , Washington municipal court receives speeding tickets and traffic violations from police officers, Washington state police troopers as well as other law enforcement officials. Violators are given a determined number of days to appear in court to either pay the ticket, plead guilty, not guilty or no contest. Courts may require a no contest or guilty plea in order to approve the request to take the defensive driving diversion. A court fee may need to be paid for the Defensive Driving to be approved, but the cost will still be less than the overall cost for paying a speeding or moving violation fine and subsequent increase in auto insurance hikes.
After the completion of the defensive driving diversion class, you’ll receive a certificate of completion. The certificate does not indicate that it’s for diversion and simply certifies that you completed the defensive driving course. You may use this certificate to get an auto/car insurance discount. Most national car insurance companies such as Geico, State Farm, Allstate, Nationwide and others offer a 10% discount for 3 years for take the defensive driving or defensive driving class. This is a big added benefit in addition to eliminating the cost for a speeding ticket or other moving violation.
The defensive driving diversion course is 100% online and may be taken totally at your convenience and in you spare time. Everyone passes. It’s easy to take and has animated cartoon like videos. An audio version is also available so for those who prefer can just sit back and listen to the course.
Check your auto/car insurance company for the additional insurance discounts available after defensive driving completion, which is in addition to defensive driving diversion: